Tags

,

My brother got a dachshund puppy for my 2-year-old nephew. Since, I am a dog lover, I did my research to find out about a dachshund characteristics and how to train a dachshund puppy.

Here’s one of the characteristics I found:

“The Dachshund is, quite simply, the “right dog” for many people. Small in size, even the largest Standard Dachshund weighs only about 30 pounds. Easy to maintain in good physical condition, the Dachshund doesn’t require long runs over many acres. Possessing a friendly, companionable personality, the Dachshund charms his way into the hearts of all who get to know him. Though he can be rather stubborn at times, his behavior easily can be modified by a wise owner who quickly changes the subject and gets the dog to focus on some new activity. In other words, the owner refuses to recognize the dog’s obstinacy and thereby prevents a repetition of the undesirable behavior. Physical rough handling only makes an even-tempered Dachshund become aggressive.” (Resource:http://www.dogchannel.com/dog-books/dog-breed-books/dachshund-characteristics.aspx)

After reading many facts about a dachshund, I am excited and I am also worried. Excited for my nephew,having a pet can teach him about the existence of other living creatures first-hand rather than on television. But then, I am also worried that if it is physically handled rough it will be aggressive and might attack him. So I’ve got missions during my stay here, I should train both my nephew (including his parents) and the puppy as well. Hah! tough mission 🙂 Wish me luck!

“Hei world my name is Batik, I am three months old”

We named the puppy Batik because of its fur. It has a batik pattern (Indonesian traditional cloth).

