Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So, today I decided to cook one of Indonesia traditional food. It’s a beautiful Sunday, I got home from church, and checked my refrigerator, and voilà! the idea came up. This food called “Nasi Uduk” or we can say in English coconut milk rice, nasi means rice and for uduk, well… I honestly don’t know the meaning of uduk 🙂
Okay, let me describe what is nasi uduk, it is an Indonesian style steamed rice dish originally from Jakarta, Indonesia’s capital. It has a fragrance aroma and cooked with coconut milk and different kind of herbs and spices. It’s easy to find nasi uduk in the roadside of Jakarta. People usually eat it for breakfast.

Okay, back to the cooking thing.. This is my first time cooking nasi uduk, I usually buy it, but cook it? Never…
And I usually don’t cook food that requires a lot of preparation. But it’s time for a change haha.. and like I said it’s a good day to cook, and my cooking mood is on its highest level.

After searching for several nasi uduk recipes over the internet, I decided to make my version of nasi uduk, because all the recipes I found need plenty of spices and ingredients to mix in the coconut milk and rice, and I don’t have the complete spices and ingredients, but all those recipes did not stop me. The cooking show must go on! After cooking for 2 hours, this is the longest cooking period I have in my life. I started cooking at 11 am and finished at 1 pm. Haha.. my kitchen is really a mess. But my version of nasi uduk tastes… well not bad, it really is, even I can tell that it tastes good. Good job myself!

Tada! my version of nasi uduk

A glass of coconut milk to mix with the rice

Sambal

Sambal is a spicy Southeast Asian condiment made, in its simplest form, from chile peppers and salt. Mine is made of chillies (plenty of them), onions, garlic, salt, sugar, and shrimp paste.

Today’s Quote:

