Tags

, , , ,

Last school year we had such a blast celebrating our United Nations Day Program. We decided that each class is going to represent continents of the world. So my class got Africa to represent. I was so excited that my students were going to be awesome wearing African costumes and dancing with Shakira’s Waka Waka song. The dancing on the refrain part was exactly the same, but  the rest of the dancing was totally different. I did some research and practice myself for about a week before teaching the movement to  my students.

That’s us wearing our African costume in front of our class booth

My students performing Shakira’s Waka waka Dance, They nailed it!


I actually made the costume using felt.

Before the Dance performances, the students walked on the “runway” to show their costumes to the parents and guests. Well done kids!

.
Animal print African costume


European costume


King Pharaoh costume


Hawaiian costume

Asian Booth represented by Indonesia

European Booth

North and South American Booth

It was such a wonderful program. We truly appreciate our wonderful parents for helping the teachers to set up the booths and to provide the yummy food.

